African Moba statue

This “Tchitcheri Sakwa” is an African statue carved in wood from the Moba people, a West African population living mainly in northern Togo, but also in Ghana and Burkina Faso. THE Cherry are very recognizable minimalist sculptures reminiscent of abstract art; a cylindrical trunk with straight arms and legs, all topped with a round head without a neck.

Erected in the center of the Moba villages in northern Togo, the large Sakab Tchitchiri statues were planted in the ground, where they sank over time until they completely disappeared. This explains why the legs are often gnawed by wood-eating insects.

Tchitcheri sculptures are created on the recommendation of a diviner only and can only be shaped by a sculptor who is the son of a diviner. There are three types of Tchitcheri. The smallest, called Yendu, serve as a personal connection to the deity. Bawoong represent more recent ancestors (parents or grandparents) and are placed on the home altar. The Sakwa, like this sculpture, allude to the founding member of the clan.

For more information on this item, the sale price and the purchase process, please contact us.

The art of MOBA

Moba art is one of the most minimalist African arts. It expresses a set of concepts with extreme economy of means. The vast corpus of moba statues, made of wood or iron, is extremely coherent. There is no such thing as a “fancy” moba object. The virtuosity of the sculptor has only a very limited field of freedom to express his talent: this will be the choice of a wood and its grain, its shape in certain cases, and above all the proportion of the major parts of the object, first and foremost the head. Consistent with the spirit of the style, the objects are rarely gendered and do not include detailed facial features.

Statue africaine Moba

Ce « Tchitcheri Sakwa » est une statue africaine sculptée dans le bois provenant du peuple Moba, une population d’Afrique de l’Ouest vivant principalement au nord du Togo, mais également au Ghana et au Burkina Faso. Les Tchitcheri sont des sculptures minimalistes très reconnaissables rappelant l'art abstrait; un tronc cylindrique muni de bras et de jambes rectilignes, le tout surmonté d'une tête ronde et sans cou.

Erigées au centre des villages Moba au Nord du Togo, les grandes statues Sakab Tchitchiri étaient plantées dans le sol, où elles s’enfonçaient avec le temps jusqu’à disparaître totalement. C’est ce qui explique que les jambes soient souvent rongées, par des insectes xylophages.

Les sculptures Tchitcheri sont créés sur recommandation d'un devin seulement et ne peuvent être façonnés que par un sculpteur fils d'un devin. Il existe trois types de Tchitcheri. Les plus petits, appelés Yendu, servent de lien personnel avec la divinité. Les Bawoong représentent des ancêtres plus récents (parents ou grands-parents) et sont placés sur l'autel de la maison. Les Sakwa, comme cette sculpture, font allusion au membre fondateur du clan.

Pour obtenir plus d'informations sur cet article, le prix de vente et le processus d'achat, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L’art MOBA

L’art moba compte parmi les arts africains les plus minimalistes. Il exprime un ensemble de concepts avec une extrême économie de moyens. Le vaste corpus des statues moba, en bois ou en fer, est extrêmement cohérent. Il n’existe pas d’objet moba « fantaisistes ». La virtuosité du sculpteur n’a qu’un champ de liberté très limité pour exprimer son talent: ce sera le choix d’un bois et de sa veine, sa tournure dans certains cas, et avant tout la proportion des parties majeures de l’objet, en tout premier lieu la tête. En cohérence avec l’esprit du style, les objets sont rarement sexués et ne comportent pas de traits détaillés au visage.